The alfapump® system is not currently approved in the United States or Canada. In the United States and Canada, the alfapump® system is currently under clinical investigation (POSEIDON Study) and is being studied in adult patients with refractory or recurrent ascites due to cirrhosis. For more information regarding the POSEIDON clinical study see www.poseidonstudy.com.
The DSR® therapy is still in development and it should be noted that any statements regarding safety and efficacy arise from ongoing pre-clinical and clinical investigations which have yet to be completed.
The DSR® therapy is not currently approved for clinical research in the United States or Canada. There is no link between the DSR® therapy and ongoing investigations with the alfapump® system in Europe.

Board members

Pierre Chauvineau

Chairman of the Board

Pierre has over 26 years of international business leadership in corporate and start-up companies within the medical technology industry. He started his career with Medtronic where he spent 20 years living in Belgium, France, Switzerland, the U.K. and Ireland consistently demonstrating leadership in developing high performance teams and growing the business faster than the market.

In 2010, he joined Cameron Health, a VC-funded medical device company based in California where he was responsible for commercialising their innovative implantable defibrillator across international markets. Cameron Health was acquired by Boston Scientific two years later in June 2012, after which he went on to lead Boston Scientific’s largest European Business Unit for 5 years.

Today, Pierre continues to work for Boston Scientific as an executive advisor on a part-time basis. He is also an executive board member with U.K. based Creavo Medical Technologies. Pierre Chauvineau holds an MBA degree in International Management from the Monterey Institute of International Studies (Monterey, California, U.S.A.) and a BA degree from IPAG (Paris, France).

Ian Crosbie

Executive Director, CEO

Ian has over 25 years of experience in the healthcare sector, both in-house at medical device and pharmaceutical companies, and as an investment banker at leading global firms. He has extensive expertise and a strong track record in capital markets, licensing and strategic transactions. Prior to joining Sequana Medical, Ian was Chief Financial Officer of GC Aesthetics Ltd. based in Dublin.

Before that, Ian was Senior Vice President, Corporate Development at Circassia Pharmaceuticals plc, a late-stage biopharmaceutical company focused on allergy immunotherapy where he led the execution of the company’s ₤210 million IPO, as well as M&A & licensing activities. Prior to Circassia, Ian enjoyed a 20-year career in corporate finance, including Managing Director, Healthcare Investment Banking at Jefferies International Limited and Director, Healthcare Investment Banking at Deutsche Bank. He has a degree in Engineering, Economics and Management from Oxford University.

Rudy Dekeyser

Non-Executive Director

Rudy is managing partner of the LSP Health Economics Fund II, a €280 million fund investing in medical device, diagnostic and digital health companies in Europe and the U.S. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Sequana Medical, Curetis, reMYND, Celyad and EMBLEM and has served on many other biotech boards such as Ablynx (acquired by Sanofi), Devgen (acquired by Syngenta), CropDesign (acquired by BASF), Actogenix (acquired by Intrexon) and Multiplicom (acquired by Agilent).

Prior to joining LSP, he was one of the co-founders of VIB and co-managing director of this leading life sciences research institute for 17 years, during which he was also responsible for its business development. Under his leadership VIB has built a patent portfolio exceeding 200 patent families, signed 800 R&D and license agreements, spun out twelve companies and laid the foundation for bio-incubators, bio-accelerators and the biotech association FlandersBio. Rudy holds a Ph.D in molecular biology from the University of Ghent where he was also professor of innovation management until 2012.

Erik Amble

Non-executive Director

Erik is the chairman and founder of NeoMed Management in 1997. Prior to that, he was Chairman and controlling shareholder of NeoMed AS, providing investment advisory services, specializing in small and medium sized companies in the pharmaceutical, medical device and diagnostic industries.

From 1993 to 1997, NeoMed AS co-managed two private equity investment companies, KS Nordic Healthcare Partners and Viking Medical Ventures Limited. He has served as a board member of Clavis Pharma AS, GenoVision AS/Qiagen AS, Thommen Medical AG, Vessix Vascular Inc. and Sonendo Inc., and currently serves on the Board of Directors of JenaValve Technology Inc. CorFlow Therapeutics AG and Axonics Modulation Technologies Inc. He is a founder and former Chairman of the Norwegian Venture Capital Association. He holds a Dr. scientific degree in organic chemistry from the University of Oslo and a Master of Science degree in Management from the Graduate School of Business, Stanford University, U.S.A.

Wim Ottevaere

Non-Executive Director

Wim was the Chief Financial Officer of Ablynx until September 2018. Ablynx was a Belgian biopharmaceutical company engaged in the development of proprietary therapeutic proteins based on single-domain antibody fragments. It was listed on Euronext Brussels and Nasdaq and acquired by Sanofi in June 2018.

From 1992 until joining Ablynx in 2006, he was Chief Financial Officer of Innogenetics (now Fujirebio Europe), a biotech company that was listed on Euronext Brussels at the time. From 1990 until 1992, he served as Finance Director of Vanhout, a subsidiary of the Besix group, a large construction enterprise in Belgium. From 1978 until 1989, he held various positions in finance and administration within the Dossche group. Wim holds a Master’s degree in Business Economics from the University of Antwerp, Belgium.

Jackie Fielding

Non-Executive Director

Jackie spent 28 years with Medtronic, most recently as Vice President UK / Ireland, where she was responsible for more than 700 staff and revenue of approximately $750 million. She held a number of external posts alongside her role at Medtronic, including Chair of the BCIA (British Cardiovascular Intervention Association) and council member of the BCIS (British Cardiovascular Intervention Society).

In 2010, she was elected to the Board of Directors of ABHI (Association of British HealthTech Industries) and in 2015 was appointed Vice Chair. Jackie has worked with the UK’s NHS (National Health Service) Clinical Entrepreneur programme and was a member of the Ministerial Medical Technology Strategy Group. She is Non-Executive Director on the Boards of UK’s NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence), 3D Life Prints and Northumbria Primary Care, of which she is also Chair.

We would like to use cookies to better understand your use of this website. This enables us to improve your future experience on our website. Detailed information about the use of cookies on this website and how you can manage or withdraw your consent at any time can be found in our. Privacy & Cookie Policy

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.